What Is a Christian?

Are Mormons Christian? comments on an article by Cooper Abrams
The subtitle is “The Bible and LDS Scriptures Prove Conclusively that Mormons Are not Biblical Christians”

This article is just one of many I have encountered in my journey to understand why people think that Mormons are not Christians.

I am hurt and confused by much of the rejection I see in the teachings of others. As I read just the first couple of paragraphs I saw so many untruths that I just gave up. I have done much the same with others of these, noting that most were written by men “educated” in the Christian way– in other words, they attended a seminary, received a degree, and now they are uniquely qualified as a “man of God” to preach Christ.

Despite the many untruths I see, such as “Historically, only until recently have Mormons wanted to be called Christians, preferring not to be included with Christian denominations” (see? untruth right from the VERY beginning), I DO know that there is no definition of what a Christian really is, anywhere in the Bible, Book of Mormon, or any other historical scripture that I am aware of. How can anyone argue that anyone is not a biblical Christian when there is no such classification anywhere in the bible?

Christian is not a title granted to us through the grace of Christ, it is a set of defining characteristics that we (God’s children) proclaimed upon ourselves. It is a way of being like Him, as we understand Him, which is why Latter Day Saints (originally nicknamed “Mormon” by their enemies) call themselves saints.

From the time Joseph Smith saw his first vision until now, “Mormons” have defined themselves as Christians. It has not been until others “educated in Christ” have begun to adjust their view of Christians to exclude the LDS people that we have become more inclined to enlighten others of the truth that we know… Jesus is the Christ, the Redeemer and Savior of the whole world, not just those who define themselves as “Christian.”

I am not going to waste all of my time arguing with these people when there is so much dissension in the ranks. I could go on and on about how uneducated these people really are, but that would be as unchristian as they are. (oops, now I am judging others)

Think of me how you might. I know who I am, and I know my heart. More importantly, God knows who I am, and He knows my heart. God is not looking down at each of us and saying “you are Christian, and you are not.” God has not given any man on this earth the right to decide who is, or who is not a follower of Christ, or whether or not they should be.

I looked it up– just to see what the online dictionary says about the word christian, and I was not surprised to see that the word, a latin derivitaive of Christ originates from 1250 to 1300 ad. More than twelve hundred years after his birth, so how could the term be something relating to biblical scripture?

All I can say is figure it out for yourself… educate yourself more about who and what Christ was and who he IS.

One thought on “What Is a Christian?

  1. Reblogged this on Untold Stories and commented:

    I had a pile of scriptures mistakenly texted to my phone last night. You know the ones–saved by grace ONLY and that kind of stuff. My phone has an 801 area code, so I knew that the mistaken message was targeted to some poor believer in the LDS faith.

    However, the sender of the message snagged an opportunity to share his version of the gospel to another unsuspecting stranger: me. And so I decided to reblog a very old post.

    This is for you, Trevor. And since you seem interested, would you look up the scriptures I sent back to you? You know, the ones about loving one another and “judge not” kind of stuff.

Leave a Reply

