Banned Books: That was Then, This is Now

How my reading lists have changed over the past four years

If you are a reader, you will probably recongize today’s blog’s title as a banned book title.  It is the sequel to one of my very favorite banned books (then and now): The Outsiders

My favorite banned books in 2010:

  • Harry Potter
  • The Davinci Code
  • The Adventures of Hucklebery Finn
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • The Scarlet Letter
  • Twighlight Series (I’ll count these as one)
  • Of Mice and Men
  • 1984
  • Winnie the Pooh
  • The Outsiders

My favorite banned books today:

  • The Scarlet Letter
  • The Book Thief
  • Harry Potter
  • The Davinci Code
  • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • Hunger Games Series
  • 1984
  • Winnie the Pooh
  • The Outsiders

Ten banned books I have read in or before 2010:

  • The Chocolate War (The references to masturbation have led me to ban this book from my personal favorites list.  Otherwise I loved it)
  • The Color Purple (See comment above)
  • Eight Seconds (I recommend this book to adolescents who wonder about sexual orientation, although it doesn’t seem to have much of a plot)
  • Captain Underpants series (I didn’t actually read them, but my son–10 at the time– read parts of them out loud to me, and I thought they were hilarious!)
  • Scary Stories Series (I haven’t read all of them, but I liked them–found ‘em a little tame. LOL)
  • The Great Gatsby(Too voyeuristic for my taste)
  • As I Lay Dying (I loved it, just not sure if it is a favorite)
  • The Awakening (It has a good message, just not sure that I completely agree with it)
  • The Giver (I hated the ending–I thought they died)
  • Are you There God, it’s me, Margaret (I read it because all my friends were making a big deal out of it.  I thought Margaret was stupid–I was 11 at the time.)

Ten other banned books I have read up to 2014:

  • Carrie (Steven King is one of the greatest writers alive. However, I don’t like his language or subject matter.)
  • A Day No Pigs Would Die (It was assigned for one of my children. Since he left it home while he was at school, I read it too. He liked it better than I did)
  • The Face on the Milk Carton (A great book, but a little outdated–now we use social media.)
  • Catcher in the Rye (It did absolutely nothing for me, so I quit halfway through.)
  • Go Ask Alice (A hard-hitting book on teens and drugs.  I totally recommend it to teens who experiment with drugs, even if it is a little outdated.)
  • My Brother Sam Is Dead (A great book!  Why is it banned?)
  • Kaffir Boy (I read the Reader’s Digest condensed version of this book.  LOVED it!)
  • A Light in the Attic (I read it to my children. We all loved it! There’s a copy on my bookshelf at home.)
  • That Was Then, This Is Now (Did I mention that I read it?)
  • The Witches (I love Roald Dahl. Why was this banned, and not Charlie and the Chocolate Factory?)

    Did I just say what I think I said?

Uh, Oh.  Now I have to up date my to-read list. I’m ashamed to admit that I didn’t get to many of them. This year I intend to finish the whole list. (I can’t believe I said this in public!)

Anyway, here’s my list from 2014 with the books I actually read crossed off

  • I know why the Caged Bird Sings
  • The Golden Compass
  • Bridge to Terebithia
  • The Grapes of Wrath
  • The Lord of the Flies
  • A Farewell to Arms
  • The Jungle
  • For Whom the Bell Tolls
  • Carrie
  • A Mercy (I can see why people question her books. They are very violent and graphic, but accurate to the subject matter.)

And two more to add to the list so when I report back next year, I can say I read all ten:

  • Looking for Alaska
  • Persepolis

 

 

Leave a Reply

