Congratulations!

Now EVERYBODY is free to marry the person of their choice.

Screenshot 2015-06-26 11.12.25

I learned about it on Facebook. I get more accurate news there, even if it is wildly conflated along party lines. The nice thing about Facebook is that I get both points of view, nearly simultaneously, and it is so much easier to get a clear picture that way.  After all, there are many sides to every story.

So this morning I got the post from a gay friend first. Next I heard from a conservative relative, and following that, this from my visiting teaching partner:

Screenshot 2015-06-26 12.08.33

Here is the complete text from the LDS Church’s press release:

“The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints acknowledges that following today’s ruling by the Supreme Court, same-sex marriages are now legal in the United States. The Court’s decision does not alter the Lord’s doctrine that marriage is a union between a man and a woman ordained by God. While showing respect for those who think differently, the Church will continue to teach and promote marriage between a man and a woman as a central part of our doctrine and practice.”

I don’t know my new partner well, and the conversation that followed proved it.

I couldn't have said it better.

I couldn’t have said it better. And so in the spirit of the day:

  #ProudtoLove

Leave a Reply

